AWS Certified Security - Specialty

The AWS Certified Security - Specialty exam is designed for individuals who perform a security role and have at least two years of hands-on experience securing AWS workloads.

Earning this AWS Certification shows:

  • You understand specialized data classifications, encryption methods, and secure internet protocols as well as the AWS mechanisms to implement them.
  • You understand AWS security services and features of services which provide a secure production environment, as well as an overall understanding of security operations and risks.
  • You have competency gained from two or more years of production deployment experience using AWS security services and features.

Start your exam prep with these resources and tips

Start now

Exam content outline

Domain 1: Incident Response (12%)
Domain 2: Logging and Monitoring (20%)
Domain 3: Infrastructure Security (26%)
Domain 4: Identity and Access Management (20%)
Domain 5: Data Protection (22%)

Response types

Multiple choice: Has one correct response and three incorrect responses (distractors)
Multiple response: Has two correct responses out of five or more response options

Exam Details


65 questions; multiple choice, multiple answer



Delivery Method

Testing center or online proctored exam


170 minutes to complete the exam


300 USD (Practice Exam: 40 USD) funding options


Available in English, Japanese, Korean, and Simplified Chinese

Ready to take your exam?

Conveniently test on-base or online.